Some places we've been and some places we're going.

Last Day on Lewis

This morning when I looked out of the bedroom window I saw the hills reflected in the loch, it’s the first time I’ve seen that because the water has always been too rough. I’m hoping it will be the same tomorrow when we take the ferry across The Minch.  I don’t want to have any stories to tell about a rough passage back to the mainland.

Since arriving at Leverburgh we’ve now travelled from north to south on the east and west sides. Today we went south down the east coast of Harris on mostly very narrow twisty roads. We went across the Scalpay Bridge, along the narrow bending roads which at times seemed to almost go through people’s kitchens and into the town. When we arrived at the loading dock for the Fish Farms I heard a distinct sigh as Lena finally felt safe enough to breathe out! We didn’t hear any, “I’ve got four bars” today as we went up the hills, she was too scared to take her eyes off the road to check for phone signals.

When we were at our North Uist B and B a cyclist told us the east coast road was “a must” and recommended the Skoon Gallery Café so we bypassed another and were very pleased we did. We were able to sit outside in glorious sun and enjoy scones, jam and cream, apparently delicious coffee and definitely fine hot chocolate. At the table next to us were 4 “Twitters”, according to Mark, quite easy to pick really with the inevitable binoculars. I think they would have seen more birds in South Uist.

The view of Loch Seaforth was absolutely stunning and so was Luskentyre Beach but there were always amazing rock formations, many, many lochs and houses built in places that make you wonder how it was managed. I can’t help but wonder what people living in such isolation do, they can’t be all retired English wanting to escape the world and although the distances aren’t great I’m sure in the winter the roads would often be closed. If they’re scary when they’re dry they would be terrifying or even deadly with ice on them.

Tomorrow we get the ferry about 2:00 and I’m hoping that the wind that has now picked up will drop by then. We certainly all enjoyed the beautiful weather today.

Comments on: "Last Day on Lewis" (1)

  1. I just love the Harris Tweed, the orb logo takes me back to my dear Uncle Ray (Mum’s brother the tailor). What a sensible cloth in that climate. Happy crossings and smooth seas.

Have a comment? I'd like to hear it.

