Some places we've been and some places we're going.

Devonport to Home

I awoke about 4:00 and thought the ferry had stopped, I was amazed that we had arrived so quickly as I could see the lights of what I thought was Melbourne. I knew we wouldn’t be disembarking until 6:30 so went back to sleep. At 5:30 we were both awake and the ferry was moving slowly towards Melbourne, I’d been mistaken and the lights I’d seen before were the lights of Geelong.

After making good use of the lovely hot shower we organised ourselves and thought we’d go out onto the deck to watch the sunrise but there was a fly in that ointment. Smoking is only allowed outside so it seemed that wherever we stood we were in range of smoke so we went back into the lounge.

Our car section was the last one to disembark, Alex had put our destination into the GPS so figured we’d be fine getting out of Melbourne. No. The cyborg told us to turn left when everyone else was turning right. Alex believed the cyborg and we headed for an area where semis were heading into a loading area. Luckily we were able to do a loop around and get back into the lane going towards the city and the West Gate Bridge.

We had a photo stop and breakfast at Ballarat then just continued on the freeway. Another photo stop for the Kaniva sheep and lunch then off again. We saw a few caravans heading off in the opposite direction and I was sorry our holiday was over but it is nice to be home.

Maybe we’ll get to Tassie again and have more time so we can revisit the places we loved and go to places we couldn’t manage this time, there’s certainly plenty to see and do.

Comments on: "Devonport to Home" (12)

  1. Kavina sheep looks pretty! Cyborg can not be trusted, isn’t it? 😉 I have to say though, that when we were in Cuba, we drove around with the help of google GPS and it was accurate and very helpful! Otherwise I think we might got lost – well we did once and it was because of my fault in reading the maps 😀

    • We don’t trust the cyborg 100% but most of the time it’s definitely much better than navigating ourselves. We have special maps installed for outback travel and they are brilliant. thanks for commenting.

  2. These are really great photos. May I ask what type camera you are using?

    • I used a Panasonic uLmix, DMC-ZS20, it’s a point and shoot with 30X zoom BUT it is now refusing to open. I’ve tried all kinds of things which din’t work so I’ve ordered the newest model and it should come tomorrow. I found it a great little camera but if you want to take photos of buildings, there’s a lot of distortion then.
      Thanks for commenting.

  3. The photo of the sunset is breathtaking. Beautiful pictures of a beautiful piece of our earth. It’s nice to travel with you. 🙂

    • Thanks for your lovely comment. I’m afraid we won’t be travelling and more for a few months but hope to head up to Queensland in July when it gets a bit cold here. “Cold” being a relative term, no snow or ice!

  4. Had to come back and take another look at some of that Tasmanian scenery. I loved it just as much as the first time. 🙂

  5. I’d love to visit there! Your posts are incredible. Love that flowered cow!

  6. The scenery is breathtaking. Tasmania looks like a wonderful place to visit. One of those Kaniva sheep would sure look good on my balcony. Lol. I’ll read you later.

    • The Kaniva sheep were a lovely surprise for me but what really impressed me was the effort locals put in to encourage travellers to stop in their town. It certainly worked for us. Tassie is a great place and I hope we get back for a better look around but I think our next trip probably midyear, will be somewhere on the mainland. Thanks for commenting.

Have a comment? I'd like to hear it.

