Some places we've been and some places we're going.

Things We Learnt This Time

We always need to buy some clothes no matter what we think when leaving home.

It’s a mistake to think laundry will be done right in the middle of the holiday.

We will need an Internet dongle next time we go away.

Two weeks is only long enough to get a tiny taste of Tassie.

 

Hope you enjoyed reading the blog. 🙂

Map of our travels:

See all the gaps? That's where we haven't been yet!

See all the gaps? That’s where we haven’t been yet!

Comments on: "Things We Learnt This Time" (26)

  1. Hello
    Thanks for dropping by my blog, and taking the time to leave a comment… 🙂 appreciated 🙂
    4otomo.wordpress.com

  2. Thanks for dropping by in my blog. Yours is very interesting. Someday I hope to get at your side of the world.

  3. Hi Sue and Alex,

    I’ve been studying your map and it would seem that Dean and I are about to follow your tracks – almost exactly. I just hope the roads are good enough for towing our mini home.

    Clare

    • Thinking back the only couple of roads I’d describe as a bit rough were the section from Savage River to Corinna which we did in a day trip because at the time the ferry at Corinna was out for maintenance. The other part where we needed to be careful was the Hastings Caves to Cockle Creek road which had heaps of big potholes,there are great campsites along there but we based ourselves at Huonville so weren’t negotiating with the camper-trailer. The dirt roads can change a lot over a short time so I guess you always have to ask around then decide what you feel comfortable with. I’ll wait to see if you post photos of yourselves on the Eagle Glide 🙂

      • Thank you so much for the heads up. 🙂

      • Quick reply!!! We’re heading off again in a month or two and will have the same issues as before with internet access. Are you happy with wahtever you’re using?

      • Almost 😦 I have Telstra 4G dongle that permits 4 (?) connections. So far we’ve only been a couple of places where the reception is questionable (here included). It is expensive though and only 1% of what I’m used to as far as download goes, but it’s better than nothing. I just have to be careful.

      • Thanks for that, I thought a dongle was the best way to go, I just wish they would give you download blocks without a time limit.

  4. Wish I could tag along!

  5. You have been around! I will catch up with your blog, Glad to meet another traveler in wordpress 🙂 and I agree laundry won’t be done right away during holiday 😀

  6. You have a great blog! I love the pictures, information, and map of where you’ve been. It is like going on the journey with you.

    • Glad you enjoyed it. We intend taking off again for 5 weeks leaving in mid-July, I want to avoid some of the cold weather. If you live in the US you would find that hilarious especially this year since we never get snow and only a few frosts but our house really needs an insulation upgrade. We’re heading to Queensland for another dose of the Great Barrier Reef. The last time we went I wasn’t blogging so there is nothing about it on the site.

  7. Hey, you went right past my house 🙂

  8. Tassie is a lovely place 🙂

    • The thing Tasmanians have that I envy is the water, so much lovely fresh water and the things that grow because of it. Oh to have some of that here in SA.

      • I very much agree with you. We live inland, well away from the coast, and it gets hot and very dry. My garden (and I) dream of soft, moist rain at a time of year when things are growing (as opposed to winter!).

  9. Thanks for the blogging. 🙂
    The way you write you take me on a trip I’d never get a chance to do, thanks Sue.

  10. Loved reading your blog. Glad you had a good time. Cindy xo

Have a comment? I'd like to hear it.

